.

GOP Files Complaint Over Possible Collusion Between Pasch, Outside Group

State Republican Party seeks investigation into whether Democrat in 8th Senate District Recall Race is coordinating efforts with organization.

The Republican Party of Wisconsin Monday filed a complaint with the state Government Accountability Board, asking the agency to investigate possible collusion between Democrat state Rep. Sandy Pasch's campaign and a special-interest group.

Pasch, who is facing Republican state Sen. Alberta Darling in the Aug. 9 recall election, sits on the board of the directors of Citizen Action of Wisconsin, a group actively involved in the recall race.

The group has filed papers with the state saying that it plans spend money to support Pasch in the recall, but as of Monday it hasn't reported doing so.

"(No reports) have been reported yet," said Mike McCabe, executive director of the Wisconsin Democracy Campaign, a nonpartisan group that monitors campaign spending. "But that doesn’t mean they haven’t spent some money. It just hasn’t been reported yet."

There is nothing illegal about Pasch being on the board of directors or the group spending money on her behalf. However, Citizen Action cannot coordinate its efforts with the candidate.

"At this point, we don’t know if they’ve spent any money, and if they do, we would need to see some evidence of actual coordination," Reid Magney, a spokesman for the Government Accountability Board, said Friday. "Just because she is on the board doesn’t mean there’s been coordination. At this point, it's really too early to draw any conclusions because we don’t know if they’ve spent any money."

Magney said Monday the GAB has received the complaint from the state party but declined to comment on the details in the complaint.

When the GAB receives a complaint, it first assesses whether there is a reasonable basis to investigate. If the board believes there is a sufficient basis to proceed, it may authorize an investigation.

However, Stephan Thompson, executive director of the Republican Party of Wisconsin, said there are signs that Pasch and the group may be working together.

“In recent weeks, Citizen Action has taken an unusual interest in attacking Alberta Darling, with nearly identical messaging as the Pasch campaign,” he said in a statement. “We feel that it is only prudent to ensure that these circumstances are uncanny coincidences, not the result of illegal activity on the part of the Pasch campaign.”

Robert Kraig, executive director at Citizen Action, said allegations of collusion are unfounded.

"It’s entirely untrue. If it were true, it’d be illegal," Kraig told Patch. "Then someone could present evidence to the GAB and we’d be in jeopardy. We’ve been involved in elections for many years and we know you can't coordinate with candidates and we don’t do it."

Gillian Morris, a spokeswoman for Pasch's campaign, also said there is no coordination between the candidate and the group.

"Sandy has been a member of their board for years, but she has had absolutely no involvement in any campaign strategy or plans, or anything like that," Morris said.

"This is a laughtable attempt to attack her because they're running scared and they're seeing the writing on the wall that Sandy is in a strong position to win that seat," she added.

But the Darling campaign described the allegation as a "very serious matter" and urged the state to investigate.

“As we have seen throughout the campaign from Sandy Pasch, she has little regard for right and wrong," said Darling campaign manager Andrew Davis in a statement. "Sandy is willing to blatantly and repeatedly lie about Medicare cuts. She’s received a ‘Pants on Fire’ from the Journal Sentinel’s Politifact for saying Alberta wants to end health care for seniors. Now we uncover the fact that there is possibly illegal coordination occurring.

"It’s going to be rather difficult for Sandy Pasch to plead ignorance when she sits on the board of directors for Citizen Action Wisconsin, and her campaign treasurer is also managing the finances for that same third-party group," he added.

Chris Heather August 02, 2011 at 04:11 PM
Linda here, explain this : http://www.opensecrets.org/orgs/list.php?order=A
CowDung August 02, 2011 at 04:12 PM
Funding for planned parenthood doesn't qualify as helping balance the budget?
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 04:21 PM
@Sara Conrad...Where's the proof? I know you are using the "duck test", but that can be misleading. I wrote you before, proving collusion is difficult at best. By the way, weren't you the one who drew attention to children soliciting for recall signatures? What ever happened to that? Oh, strange how the recall grassroots people had more than enough to place Alberta on the recall ballot. What's your skin in this game? You don't have children in schools, you don't directly pay property taxes, etc. The only skin I can see is that you don't want to be represented by Lena Taylor and Gwen Moore. When your lease is up you can move a few blocks north and you'll be OK, even if Sandy pulls off the upset.
CowDung August 02, 2011 at 04:27 PM
If Sandy pulls the upset, we will have to move farther than a few blocks north to 'be OK'. I'm thinking it will have to be more like 350 miles West...
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 04:31 PM
@CowDung...The money diverted away from Planned Parenthood wasn't used to balance the budget since it went to Pro-Life providers.
CowDung August 02, 2011 at 04:34 PM
You have something against funding life, Lyle?
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 04:37 PM
@CowDung...I would be disappointed if you moved so far away. First of all, if Pasch takes this election and stands for recall in November, 2012; the odds are against her for retaining the seat in the redistricted 8th. If you should move, keep in contact on the Patch, you'd be missed.
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 04:44 PM
@CowDung...I do fund life. Once a baby is born I treat them as a valued human being. The money diverted from Planned Parenthood cannot be used for abortion. That is all done through private donation, mine included. Funding for abortion was never part of this. Defunding Planned Parenthood is a way to keep the support of the social conservatives.
CowDung August 02, 2011 at 04:44 PM
Thanks, Lyle. Maybe I'll decide to stick it out should the unthinkable happen...
CowDung August 02, 2011 at 04:48 PM
Aren't the serviced provided by PP available anywhere else? Do any of the programs for low income healthcare already cover the women that are affected by the funding cuts? I'm not quite sure it is all that easy to say that the funding doesn't go for abortions. It's all one entity, does it really make a difference what pocket they take the money out of?
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 05:04 PM
@CowDung...PP of WI has done an excellent job of placing their clinics in places that make it easy for the client's to get their women's healthcare needs met. Usually they are located in low income neighborhoods on bus routes. As far as the money for pregnancy terminations, very few of their clinics perform such services and those that do are funded completely separated from other clinical services. Oversight is accomplished by annual audits by the government. Other service providers do not offer anywhere near a complete service, excluding abortion. It's sad that something that works and works well is being punished due to social philosophy.
CowDung August 02, 2011 at 05:11 PM
I thought you were opposed to privatization of our healthcare...
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 05:21 PM
@CowDung...I am opposed to privatization of healthcare, but PP is the best we have for completing their mission until such time as public healthcare takes over.
The prosser-cuter August 02, 2011 at 05:44 PM
Sandy trying to cover her tracks. It's not working. Notice the name on the Wisconsin Jobs Now registration! Why that couldn't be Sandy's treasurer now could it? https://www.wdfi.org/apps/CorpSearch/Details.aspx?entityID=W057925&hash=591977217&searchFunctionID=aec64a7b-90cc-484b-9098-369bb57212cf&type=Simple&q=wisconsin+jobs+now
The prosser-cuter August 02, 2011 at 05:46 PM
I saw All the President's Men yesterday on HBO. We can call this movie "Ribgate"
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 05:53 PM
@The prosser-cuter...Are you old enough to have voted for Nixon in either 1968 or 1972?
The prosser-cuter August 02, 2011 at 05:57 PM
@ Lyle - No, I was only 10 in 1972
The prosser-cuter August 02, 2011 at 05:58 PM
Sandy and her crew are doing their best to scrub their internet footprint. Too many screenshots and too many public records out there to hide the truth!
Sara Conrad August 02, 2011 at 06:00 PM
Lyle....I'm not in campaign court and it's not my job to show you proof of collusion. I never said there was any solid, incriminating evidence. All I said is that Sandy Pasch is on the board of a group who sent out full page full color double sided fliers that were illustrating a stance against the opposition of Sandy Pasch in the upcoming election. That's just what's up. How it plays out is anyone's guess but right now it's not looking too smart on the part of Pasch's campaign. Simple. Done. You know I submitted evidence of children collecting signatures in the recall election and I know you know because all the comments you left calling me a bonehead and questioning my credibility amongst other things is still posted on my profile page. I never said that would toss out tens of thousands of signatures. There's nothing "strange" about the amount of signatures collected securing a recall election. What's strange is your bizarre way of reasoning things. Are you saying that because I'm not a homeowner or a mother I can't have an opinion or vote in an election that will decide who represents me? That's ludicrous and.....strange. Oh, by the way, I DO pay property tax when I pay my rent. Rent on a flat that is north of Kensington. Rent on a flat that I love very much and I'm not moving as I see no reason for me to. You're stuck with me. ;)
Lyle Ruble August 02, 2011 at 06:15 PM
@Sara Conrad...You do have a right to an opinion and I wouldn't change that for anything. One of the things I enjoy is the passion you put into what you do and your beliefs. I am happy that we have contrasts on the Patch; it brings joy and vitality to living. I don't feel stuck with you, you're a valued neighbor.
Keith Best August 02, 2011 at 10:35 PM
Here's a report connecting the dots..... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtMSeHcpTgs&feature=youtu.be
The prosser-cuter August 02, 2011 at 11:34 PM
Thanks to Maciver for connecting the dots. This demasleezery needs to end!
Aldo Raine August 03, 2011 at 12:00 AM
Unless there is proof of the campaigns working together, there is no proof of collaboration. Bet there are lots of right wing groups around the state what have GOP legislators on their boards, so these accusations can go back and forth until you are blue in the face. The bottom line is did the Pasch campaign staff and the third party groups work together. The answer is no. They avoid each other like they are radioactive. Until you have proof of meetings, kindly cut the crap.
Aldo Raine August 03, 2011 at 12:12 AM
To connect the dots you need a line. Any proof that the Pasch campaign and Citizen's Action worked together? Otherwise the as usual the Koch puppet MacGyver Institute has got nothing. But of course that won't stop them from spreading lies, like much of the other GOP campaign ads.
Ima Hippee August 03, 2011 at 02:03 AM
Aldo, You are gargling the talking points. Looking for proof. Oh wait, throw out the Koch reference. Next will be extreme right wing, yeah! A new one, spreading lies. As if Sandy is clean - you know she is not and she has not done anything for her district or Wisconsin. She is an empty skirt - a union puppet - that is all.
The prosser-cuter August 03, 2011 at 02:15 AM
Who is more of a puppet? The Klopper or Rib Girl?
Keith Best August 03, 2011 at 10:36 AM
Can't deny the obvious here......... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtMSeHcpTgs&feature=youtu.be
Keith Best August 03, 2011 at 10:42 AM
Because this is what they do. They think the media is complicent so they are immune to be held accountable. Connecting the dots here is easy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtMSeHcpTgs&feature=youtu.be
Keith Best August 03, 2011 at 10:47 AM
Go ahead Lyle, try and deny reality here. Connect the dots for yourself. "Squeaky clean as Sandy Pasch"? Yeah and I got a bridge AND some swamp land to sell ya. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtMSeHcpTgs&feature=youtu.be
The prosser-cuter August 03, 2011 at 05:15 PM
Sandy's lies are catching up with her http://mediatrackers.org/2011/08/e-mails-raise-questions-about-truthfulness-of-pasch-denial/

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »